INSIGHTS

Pursuit

When you recover or discover something that nourishes your soul and brings joy, care enough about yourself to make room for it in your life.”
– Jean Shinoda Bolen

 

Each of us has tales to tell about how we unearthed the gift given to us – may it be in art, music or literature. We all have that safe haven where we can translate ourselves into any form of beauty (visual, auditory, printed words). We all have that sense of being at home by doing the things that we love while  attracting those who we share the same passion/hobby. It’s like reaching out a hand to a stranger, feeding enthusiasm to the world and participating to the fast-paced journey in this modern era that we live in.

At times, we ponder the changes basically through the medium of education nowadays compared to the old ways in school. Before, reports were manual, textbooks were the main and sole source of knowledge and the area of progress was limited. While today, communication is so convenient. Technology helps a lot in determining and shaping someone’s field of excellence and it caters  expedient ways of expressing and showing it to the community. That’s why we see individuals uploading their recorded videos on Youtube (may it be a music video, spoken poetry,  make-up tutorial, short clips of original stories etc.), exhibiting someone’s sense of photography or fashion on Instagram, sharing stuffs and insights on their Facebook wall, or creating a blog roll like this one. We can all interrelate on this flat screen where we can flaunt our works then find either satisfaction, criticisms or happiness afterwards.

Getting on Track

Back to my grade years, I had this fondness of putting words together and started liking to read it in rhymes. Luckily, I had my chance to be one of the few who became a  member of the Journalism Club in our school and was assigned on the category of news writers.  I had my Regional Press Conference experience, an already  milestone for my younger self.  Through seminars and workshops, I came to admire the power of  idioms –  of words used in exaggeration with characteristic modes, of awakening complex sensations through set of simple bonded syllables. I began to collect and write the pages of my notebook with poems about the natural world – sunrise, trees, skies, seas – anything that my eyes could reach.

On high school until college, whenever I hear about poem-making contests, I usually convince myself to find my own seat and bleed my own words. Half of the goal of winning was my escapade of having my works land on the hands of critics and experts on literature. I am always a student on my own, learning by reference – from the works of my adored authors and poets, of co-bloggers and is always open in aiming improvements. But I am initially an anti for infringement catalysts. I had read and heard about  how heartbreaking it is to be experienced by both freelance writers and writing hobbyists.

“If a creative person steals your idea, he’s killing his creative ability, if he steals your art, he’s killing his art, if he makes it available to the world, it won’t create the impact you could have created, because it wasn’t from the right source.” 
― Michael Bassey Johnson

lovewrite.jpg

On Writing Prose and Poems

“A poet’s work , to name the unnamable, to point at frauds, to take sides, start arguments, shape the world and stop it from going to sleep.”
― Salman Rushdie

On the list of writing styles and literature genres, my heart was torn between prose and poetry. The former was my fuel for my nonchalant and carefree moods wherein I can freely spit out and key in words without thinking of any metric system, without getting bothered about the rhythmic facet, wherein I can create  liberally — whether to get into the direct point or beat around the bush. Prose makes me usually think something out of the box that will  arrive at the meaning or story in its own wonderful way. While the former is an outlet of freed creativity, nonetheless the latter is the chained thoughts that speaks about discipline, control and is equally deep and sensational. Poems are quiet challenging to write considering the metrical patterns but it is a good news that many of its forms do exist.  To squint hard enough, poetry is much more a short piece but could take you a longer span of time sewing words collectively.  It is much more about emotions stirring within that should be beautifully presented by picking through your best choice of terms o words. For example, the sonnets written by William Shakespeare passes  through  generation to generation because of its brilliance and wit.

Image result for gif about writing

Whatever kind of interest that we pursue,  we are driven out of zeal and ardor that reflects on what motivation that we possess within ourselves. Empowerment and inspiration for each one of us is all that we deserve including the decent and ethical ways of doing and sharing our diversion.

Images: GoogleImages

Hideout

Standard

Share Your Thoughts:

